top of page

Grumpy Hegdehog, Happy Oboe

Grumpy Hegdehog, Happy Oboe
Monday, Aug 19, 2024 at 12:00 pm
First Presbyterian Church
100 E Frederick St, Staunton

Free admission, open seating.

Doors open at 11:15 am.
All seating is unreserved.

Czech master Leoš Janáček wrote his Concertino in 1925, originally as a traditional piano concerto but quickly changing guise. He later noted that the themes he imagined all connect to animals, including the first movement's "grumpy hedgehog." This work is paired with a Baroque masterpiece by Jan Zelenka (the Trio Sonata No. 5), as well as a work for solo oboe and harp.

Zelenka | Trio Sonata No. 5 in F Major
Janáček | Concertino for piano and chamber ensemble
Work for solo oboe and harp

Read the Program Notes

Artists involved in this event:

Performer details will be announced shortly

bottom of page