top of page

Grumpy Hedgehog, Happy Oboe

Grumpy Hedgehog, Happy Oboe
Monday, Aug 19, 2024 at 12:00 pm
First Presbyterian Church
100 E Frederick St, Staunton

Free admission.
Donations will be accepted.

Doors open 11:15 | Concert ends 1:00

Czech master Leoš Janáček wrote his Concertino in 1925, originally as a traditional piano concerto but quickly changing guise. He later noted that the themes he imagined all connect to animals, including the first movement's "grumpy hedgehog." This work is paired with a Baroque masterpiece by Jan Zelenka (the Trio Sonata No. 5), as well as a work for solo oboe and harp.

Zelenka | Trio Sonata No. 5 in F Major
Janáček | Concertino for piano and chamber ensemble
Pasculli | Omaggio a Bellini


Artists involved in this event:

Begelman, Burgess, Collins, Corwin, Eig, Georges, Kärkkäinen, Magen, Morton, Pensola, Raffaele, Roe, Shuldiner, Steinhoff, Stern, Yoshioka, Zook

bottom of page